Patient resources

Information about North Coburg Medical Centre

Learn more about the services we provide at North Coburg Medical Centre and our facilities. Download the information brochure by clicking on the button below. 

Health Resources and Websites

Additional patient resources can be found for a wide range of health topics in the list of websites we have provided.

  • Health on the Net Foundation(HON) – www.hon.ch
    This site promotes and guides the deployment of useful and reliable online health information, and its appropriate and efficient use.
  • MyDr – www.mydr.com.au
    A very comprehensive site of useful resources and animated clips
  • Better Health Channel – www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au
    Useful information and A-Z factsheets
  • NPS – www.nps.org.au
    NPS is an independent, not-for-profit organisation to support the best use of medicines to improve health and well-being.
  • Cancer Council NSW – www.cancercouncil.com.au
  • Cancer Council Australia – www.cancer.org.au
  • Cancer Australian (Government) – canceraustralia.gov.au
    Includes information from the National Breast and Ovarian Cancer Centre (NBOCC), and information on lung and gynaecological cancers. Links to Australian cancer support organisations and websites.
  • Cancer Screening – www.cancerscreening.gov.au
    Links to Breast, Cervical and Bowel cancer screening programs.
  • Breast Cancer Network Australia – www.bcna.org.a
  • Prostate Cancer Foundation of Australia – www.prostate.org.a
  • Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre – www.petermac.org
    Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre is a world leader in cancer treatment, research and education. Excellent cancer information and links to other reliable cancer information websites.
  • Bowel Cancer Australia – bowelcanceraustralia.org/bca
  • Heart Foundation – www.heartfoundation.com.au
    The Heart Foundation provides guidelines for health professionals and informs the public and assists people with cardiovascular disease.
  • National Cholesterol Education Program Australia – www.ncepa.com.au
    This website includes information for patients including the ‘Heart-to-Heart’ booklet.
  • Blackmores Medical – www.blackmoresmedical.com.au
    This website is an evidence-based resource for complementary medicines. It includes an excellent drug interaction guide.
  • The Australasian Integrative Medicine Association (AIMA) – www.aima.net.au
    AIMA is an independent not for profit organisation of individual medical practitioners seeking to provide whole person medical care by integrating evidence-based complementary medicine into mainstream practice.
  • Therapeutic Goods Administration – www.tga.gov.au
    The Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA) is Australia’s regulatory authority for therapeutic goods.
  • Quit Victoria – www.quit.org.au
    Quit smoking resources.
  • Alcoholics Anonymous Australia – www.aa.org.au
    Resources for those struggling with alcohol use. Links to AA meetings.
  • Quitline – www.quitnow.info.au
    Australian Government website with quit smoking resources
  • Diabetes Australia – www.diabetesaustralia.com.au
  • The Australian Thyroid Foundation – www.thyroidfoundation.com.au
    The Australian Thyroid Foundation (ATF) is a member-based organisation, with membership fees and donations used to support and educate members with the most up-to-date, research, treatment and medications.
  • The Gastroenterological Society of Australia – www.gesa.org.au
    GESA is Australia’s peak body for the disciplines of gastroenterology and hepatology. This website is an online resource for GESA members, health professionals and consumers needing more information.
  • Crohn’s and Colitis Australia – www.acca.net.au
  • Coeliac Australia – www.coeliac.org.au
  • IBIS Irritable Bowel Information & Support Association of Australia – www.ibis-australia.org
  • Immunise Australia Program (Government) – www.immunise.health.gov.au
  • National Centre for Immunisation Research & Surveillance (NCIRS) – www.ncirs.usyd.edu.au
  • Immunisation Calculator (SA Health) – www.health.sa.gov.au/immunisationcalculator
    The calculator is a computer-based system that uses the National Immunisation Program Schedule. Parents, carers and immunisation providers can use the calculator to assist in catch-up scheduling for vaccinations for children up to 7.
  • Anxiety Online – www.anxietyonline.org.au
  • Black Dog Institute – www.blackdoginstitute.org.au
    Very comprehensive site for public and health professionals on diagnostic tools and fact sheets on depression, bipolar disorder and mood disorder.
  • Beyond Blue – www.beyondblue.org.au
    Also excellent information on depression, anxiety and bipolar disorder for patients and health professionals.
  • Kids Help – www.kidshelp.com.au
    Good support for young people on common conditions. Provides telephone counselling.
  • Headspace – National Youth Mental Health Foundation – www.headspace.org.au
    Site contains information about Headspace centres and other mental health issues affecting young people.
  • Schizophrenia Fellowship of NSW – www.sfnsw.org.au
  • Problem Gambling – VIC Health – www.problemgambling.vic.gov.au/